As soon as the first image is uploaded for an event, the public is able to see and place orders. However, you may not want people to start looking for images before your uploads have completed. Visitors might not find the photos they were looking for, get frustrated and leave (for good).
That is why it is better to only start showing images once all of them have uploaded completely. For events with a large number of images, this may take some time.
For that reason we created the event status feature, allowing you to open or close an event for ordering. By setting the event status to closed, you give yourself some time to prepare and uploaded images.
Where to find it
You'll find this feature next to the "event status" setting under each event on the store admin.
Keeping visitors informed
Combining the closed status with the public notice feature is a great way to inform visitors of what is happening and when they may expect to see their images.
While the event status is closed, the follower feature kicks in automatically. This feature is explained in more detail here, but essentially visitors can leave an email address in order to be notified when everything is ready for them to come back and place their order. This will ensure that people don't forget to come back later.
By using the event status with the public notice and follower features, you can reduce customer frustration, improve customer experience and ultimately increase sales.